Dads turn on the lights

A while ago I took Tabby, my bosses daughter, for a ride on our big boy Jack after we came back from a trail. On our way over the farmlands we passed Marcio & Sam´s cottage. As it was getting dark they obviously had turn on the lights.

T: “Marshell has turned on the lights. He always does that.”

Me: “But that´s what you do at night, isn´t it?”

T: “No, I don´t do that.”

Me: “But you have light at night. Does Jazz turn on the light.”

T: “No.”

Me: “So maybe your Mum turns on the light.”

T:  “No, Mummy doens´t turn on your lights. Dad does it. Only dads do that.”

Me: “So do you think Marcio is a dad yet?”

T: “No, because then he would have a girlfriend and there would be many black kids living on the farm that I could play with.”

Fun Fact: Marcio actually has a child.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Vor Kurzem hat mich Tabby, die Tochter meiner Chefin, gefragt, ob sie nach einem Ausritt auch nochmal reiten kann. Als ich mit ihr auf unserem dicken Jack über die Farm gehe, kommen wir an Marcio & Sam´s Hütte vorbei. Weil es schon dämmert, haben die beiden das Licht angemacht.

T: “Marshell macht abends immer das Licht an.”

Ich:” Aber das macht man doch, wenn es dunkel wird.”

T: “Nein, ich mache das nicht.”

Ich: “Aber bei euch ist auch immer Licht an. Macht Jazper es an?”

T: “Nein, Jaz macht das auch nicht.”

Ich: “Also macht vielleicht deine Mama das Licht an?”

T: “Nein, Papa macht das. Nur Papas machen das Licht an.”

Ich: “Also glaubst du, Marcio ist schon Papa?”

T: “Nein, weil dann hätte er eine Freundin und hier wären ganz viele kleine schwarze Kinder mit denen ich spielen könnte.”

Fun Fact: Marcio ist schon Papa.

Leave a Reply

