Hello from Africa

After a few people asking I will write a German version of my blog posts below. (Die deutsche Version findet ihr unten).

My first impression of Africa were amazing stars I could see from the plane. Seriously except for New Zealand I have not seen such a beautiful sky full of stars before.

The flight was very pleasant – except for the food which made me feel sick. Air Namibia´s crew is extremely courteous and I was lucky to have two seats for myself on the left side of the plane so after the stars I got treated with a stunning sunrise (thanks for the tip Markus) .

20170219_053509.jpg

Approaching Windhoek we were even so lucky to see a giraffe having her breakfast. At Windhoek Internation Airport I was confused by its tinyness and kept looking for more gates. But that´s just it. It was super humid and some pretty big bugs seemed to have chosen the airport as their habitat.

Entering the next plane to Capetown was not as smooth as thought as the airport staff didn´t agree which plane was going to Capetown and which to Durban. Well, I´m happy to let you know, that we made it to Capetown and I´m now enjoying the sun (well as expected I´m already burned).

Capetown is so beautiful – as is spending time with Bene. Nice flat, nice view from the flat, few surfboards in the flat, nice bikes and nice girlfriend: What a lucky bastard!

img-20170219-wa0008

We spend the day walking around stopping at VA Waterfront (THE shopping mall for the wealthier people) to get a Simcard and have sushi. You won´t belive this now, because I´ve always hated fish but Bene convinced me to try the fresh one and I actually liked the tuna (me that has always hated tuna!).GOPR0038.JPG

After sushi, a bottle of wine and a flooded table (wine chillers can be very unpractical if they leak) we kept walking and stopped by a nice beach bar for welcome beers. Seriously, it is so nice to be in summer.

 

I find it really weird to see the townships, have everything fenced off and know about all the security provisions but also the whole relaxed athmosphere, everybody enjoying life and be happy… Probably it´s because we´re in the wealthier part of Capetown but I guess I have to get used to this bipolar life.

In the evening we went to Bene´s Capetown Mum Annie who lives at the bottom of Table Mountain in an extremely nice villa. Together with Bene´s friends we moved to a bar to grab some food and end the night.

IMG-20170219-WA0034.jpg

Another thing that is new and kind of strange to me is that especially at night you have to go everywhere by Uber.

Well, for now that´s it – time for some more sun!

Love,

Ruth

 

#########################################################

Deutsch

Der Flug war super. Nicht nur, dass ich zwei Sitze am Fenster für mich hatte, sondern auch die Crew, die Filme im Flieger und vor allem der Sternenhimmel über Afrika. Ein Traum.

Auf dem Flughafen von Windhoek war ich erstmal ein wenig verwirrt. Einen internationalen Flughafen stellt man sich dann doch um einiges größer vor. Der hier war nicht mal so groß wie Ryan Air in Bremen. Aber gut. Nachdem sich die Flughafen Mitarbeiter dann einigen konnten, welches Flugzeug denn jetzt nach Kapstadt fliegt ging es auch schon los.

Kapstadt ist einfach riesig. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob ich vorher mal so eine weit ausgedehnte Stadt vom Flugzeug aus gesehen habe. Als Sahnehäubchen gab es dann den Tafelberg und Lion´s Head noch oben drauf.

Auf der Fahrt zu Bene hab ich dann direkt das andere Gesicht Kapstadts kennengelernt. Riesige Townships plus die Einführungssicherheitserklärung von Bene. Na, da hoffen wir doch mal, dass ich meine eingerosteten Kenntnisse vom Fitnessboxen nicht brauchen werde.

Nach einer dringen nötigen Dusche sind Bene und ich dann erstmal zur VA Waterfront losgezogen, haben mir eine Simkarte organisiert und richtig lecker Sushi gegessen. Bene hat mich zu Fisch überredet – ich meine, wenn es den quasi frisch vom Meer auf den Teller gibt, muss man das ja mal machen. Und ich, der größte Thunfischhasser aller Zeiten, fand es sogar extrem lecker. Den Wein übrigens auch 😉

Beim Weiterlaufen in Hammerkulisse bei schönstem Sonnenschein haben wir dann eine schöne Strandbar gefunden und uns da nochmal ein Bierchen genehmigt. Opa, wir sind eben doch deine Enkel;)

Abends haben wir Benes Südafrika Mama Annie in ihrem Traumhaus am Fuß des Tafelbergs besucht und sind von dort mit seinen Freunden weiter in ne ziemlich schöne Bar gefahren. Natürlich alles mit Uber. Schade eigentlich, dass man durch so eine schöne Stadt abends nicht laufen kann.

Naja, das war´s jetzt erstmal von mir. Bis ganz bald,

Ruth

Leave a Reply

